

## Provincial Championships size and North/South Allocation 2024

	# of teams		prov.	spots awarded		
division	BGL	Chinook	size	# BGL	# Chinook	HOST
U14AA***	5	4	9	5	4	Sherwood Park
U14A	8	7	8	4	3	Sherwood Park
U14B	9	9	12	5	6 *	Northwest
U14C	7	11	12	4	7	Pembina
U16AA***	5	4	9	5	4	Sherwood Park
U16A	9	8	8	4	3	Leduc
U16B	9	10	12	5	6	Lacombe
U16C	7	6	8	4	3	Northwest
U19AA***	7	0	7	7	0	Sherwood Park
U19A	5	8	8	3	5	Leduc **
U19B	9	14	12	4	7	Beaumont

Provincials allocations are FINAL. The formula for U14-U19 has been consistently applied to all divisions.

## Appendix D: Provincial Allocation

<u>For U14 thru U19 divisions</u>, all tiers, Ringette Alberta will calculate the number of teams from each league (Chinook League [South] and Black Gold League [North]). The intention is to have an equal % of north and south teams qualify for Provincial Championships.

Total teams will include all teams participating in that division/tier during Session 2, regardless of whether or not they commit to attend Provincials.

The allocation will consider the size as one less than the total number of spots, since the host team is already determined. For example, an 8-team provincial championship would calculate for 7 spots, and a 12-team would calculate for 11 spots.

Example 1: U16B, host in South, 12-team tournament. There are 31 teams in the province, calculating the remaining 11 spots.

North has 16 teams: 16/31 = 0.52 \* 11 spots = 5.68 spots, rounded to the nearest 1 is 6 spots South has 15 teams\*: 15/31 = 0.48 \* 11 spots = 5.32 spots, rounded to the nearest 1 is 5 spots

\*we do not remove the host team from the total number of teams in the region because this could negatively affect the spots granted for that region. When hosting teams do not have to qualify on merit, it is not fair to remove a spot from their region due to their participation.

<sup>\*</sup>U14B – Chinook League won the draw for the 11th spot since the number of teams were equal

<sup>\*\*</sup>U19A - the host does not have a U19A team (formula was based on the full 8 teams instead of 7)

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>AA - less than 9 teams in the Province therefore, all inclusive for 2024